Introducing Orchestral Music Online

The Robinson Music Library announces a new online resource — Orchestral Music Online.

Orchestral Music Online is the digitized version of a well-known reference book by David Daniels, Orchestral Music: A Handout (Scarecrow Press, 2005).

Orchestral Music Online describes over 6700 orchestral works by 900 composers, including

  • instrumentation (including chorus type and soloists)
  • duration of individual movements
  • titles of individual movements
  • biographical information on the composer
  • links from individual works to music publishers and other resources

This is an excellent tool for the following questions:

  • What are the voice/choral requirements for Steve Reich’s Tehillim?
  • What is the name of the second movement in Tchaikovsky’s 2nd symphony?
  • How many flutes are required in Rameau’s overture to Zais?
  • Determine the length of a concert based on the orchestra repertoire performed.

Orchestral Music Online can be access from any Case-networked computer or from off-campus using the VPN Client.


Leave a comment

Filed under LibraryNews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s